No excision
for my sister!

National campaign against excision

GAMS Belgium, along with some twenty partners, is launching a national campaign in June 2008 to prevent the risk of excision during a holiday in a family’s country of origin.

This website provides you with more information on excision, where it is practiced, its consequences, why it continues, what the law says on it in Belgium and Africa, and what we can do about it.

 

 

Discover the story of Diariatou as she leaves for a holiday in Sénégal >>

 

Take a look at this clip from Tiken Jah Fakoly’s "No to excision" >>

You can obtain a free copy of this cartoon strip from GAMS in French, Dutch, German or English (click on the first page of the cartoon strip, and several pages will appear).

 

If you want to know more…

What is female genital mutilation?

Female genital mutilation includes all procedures involving partial or total removal of the external female genitalia or other injury to the female genital organs whether for cultural, religious or other non-therapeutic reasons (World Health Organisation, 1997).

Excision involves the removal of the clitoris with total or partial removal of the labia minora. This represents 80% of genital mutilation cases. Infibulation involves removal of the clitoris and labia minora followed by stitching of the labia major, leaving only a narrow orifice for the passage of urine or menstrual blood.

Where is it practiced?

In certain African countries such as Somalia or Djibouti, female genital mutilation is carried out on the majority of girls. In other countries, such as Senegal or the Côte d’Ivoire, it only takes place within certain ethnic groups. The most severe form of mutilation, infibulation, mostly takes place in East Africa (Somalia, Djibouti, Sudan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Eritrea), but is also carried out on a smaller scale in certain West African countries (Mali, Nigeria).

Who carries out genital mutilations?

In African, mutilations are generally carried out by elderly women, traditional birth attendants or barbers (in Egypt), and on occasion by doctors or midwives in health care facilities despite the World Health Organisation forbidding such a practice. Girls continue to fall victim to sexual mutilation in the west, in the destination countries of their communities of origin. Families call on the services of an expatriate excisor or send their daughters for excision during a holiday to their countries of origin. Mutilations are generally carried out between 4 and 14 years old, but they can also be practiced a few months after birth or just before marriage, depending on cultural norms. The age for excision has lowered over the last few years.

Pas d'excision
pour ma soeur !

Campagne nationale contre l'excision

Le GAMS Belgique avec une vingtaine de partenaires lance en juin 2008 une campagne nationale pour prévenir le risque d’excision lors d’un retour au pays pendant les vacances.

Tu trouveras sur ce site plus d’information sur l’excision, les pays qui la pratiquent, ses conséquences, pourquoi ça continue, que dit la loi en Belgique et en Afrique, qu’est-ce qu’on peut faire

 

 

Découvre l’histoire de Diariatou qui part en vacances au Sénégal >>

 

Découvre le clip ‘non à l’excision’ de Tiken Jah Fakoly >>

Tu peux te procurer la bande dessinée gratuitement au GAMS en français, néerlandais, allemand ou anglais.

 

Si tu veux en savoir plus…

Que sont les mutilations sexuelles féminines?

Les mutilations sexuelles féminines désignent toutes les interventions aboutissant à une ablation partielle ou totale des organes génitaux externes de la femme ou toute autre mutilation de ces organes pratiquée pour des raisons culturelles ou autres et non à des fins thérapeutiques (Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, 1997).

On parle d'excision quand le clitoris a été coupé (et une partie ou la totalité des petites lèvres). Cela représente 80% des cas de mutilations sexuelles. On parle d'infibulation quand après avoir coupé le clitoris et les petites lèvres, les grandes lèvres sont cousues ensemble ne laissant qu'un petit orifice pour le passage des urines et du sang des règles.

Quels pays sont concernés?

Il existe des pays africains où la majorité des filles sont touchées comme en Somalie ou à Djibouti et d'autres pays où seulement certaines ethnies le font comme au Sénégal ou en Côte d'Ivoire. La forme la plus sévère, l'infibulation, est surtout pratiquée en Afrique de l'Est (Somalie, Djibouti, Soudan, Egypte, Ethiopie, Erythrée), mais peut aussi se retrouver en moindre proportion dans certains pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest (Mali, Nigeria).

Qui pratique les mutilations sexuelles ?

En Afrique, dans les pays concernés, les mutilations sont en général pratiquées par des vieilles femmes, des accoucheuses traditionnelles ou des barbiers (en Egypte), parfois par des médecins ou sages-femmes dans une formation sanitaire bien que cela soit interdit par l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé. Dans les pays occidentaux qui accueillent des communautés originaires de ces pays, des fillettes sont encore victimes de mutilations sexuelles. Les familles font appel à une exciseuse expatriée ou envoient en vacances leur fille au pays pour qu'elle subisse l'excision. Les mutilations sont pratiquées généralement entre 4 ans et 14 ans, mais elles peuvent être aussi réalisées à quelques mois de vie ou juste avant le mariage, selon les cultures. On observe ces dernières années un abaissement de l'âge de l'excision.