The law 

What does the law say?

Different international conventions have been ratified by numerous African countries such as the International Convention on the Rights of the Child or the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON THE RIGHTS OF THE CHILD (1990) Cl. 24: State Parties recognise the right of the child to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of health and shall take all effective and appropriate measures with a view to abolishing traditional practices prejudicial to the health of children.

AFRICAN CHARTER ON HUMAN AND PEOPLES’ RIGHTS (1986) Cl.4: Human beings are inviolable. Every human being shall be entitled to respect for his life and the integrity of his person. No one may be arbitrarily deprived of this right.

Excision is illegal in Belgium.

Excision is punishable by law in Belgium, as is the case in numerous European and African countries such as Senegal, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, etc.

Clause 409 of the Criminal Code (in force since 1st April 2001)

The perpetrators (parents and/or excisors) can be prosecuted for an excision carried out in Belgium, Europe or during a holiday in Africa.

Any person, doctor or ordinary citizen who is aware of a risk of excision must protect the young girl in danger by reporting it to the police or calling 101 (police) / 112 (European emergency number).

Something to think about …

Laws are needed to draw up a framework and set down limits. But if community awareness is not raised on this issue, convincing people of the harm involved, the law will not stop it, and clandestine mutilation will continue.

Community participation is vital if we want to make progress! Can you think of what action is required to bring an end to this practice? Give some examples!

La loi 

Que dit la loi?

Différentes conventions internationales ont été ratifiées par de nombreux pays africains comme la convention internationale sur les droits de l'enfant ou la chartre africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples.

CONVENTION INTERNATIONALE SUR LES DROITS DE L'ENFANT (1990)
Art. 24: Les Etats parties reconnaissent le droit de l'enfant de jouir du meilleur état de santé possible et prennent toutes les mesures efficaces appropriées en vue d'abolir les pratiques traditionnelles préjudiciables à la santé des enfants.

CHARTRE AFRICAINE DES DROITS DE L'HOMME ET DES PEUPLES (1986)
Art.4: La personne humaine est inviolable. Tout être humain a droit au respect de sa vie et à l'intégrité physique et morale de sa personne. Nul ne peut être privé arbitrairement de ce droit.

L’excision est interdite en Belgique

L’excision est punie par la loi en Belgique comme dans de nombreux pays européens et africains comme le Sénégal, le Burkina Faso, la Côte d'Ivoire, etc…

Article 409 du Code Pénal (en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2001)

Les auteurs (parents et/ou exciseuse) peuvent être poursuivis pour une excision faite en Belgique, en Europe ou en Afrique lors d’un séjour pendant les vacances.

Toute personne, médecin ou simple citoyen, qui a connaissance d'un risque d'excision doit signaler les fillettes en danger pour les protéger en s'adressant à un poste de police ou en appelant le n° 101(police)/le n° 112 (numéro d'appel d'urgence européen)

A réfléchir…

La loi est nécessaire pour donner un cadre, des limites. Mais si les communautés concernées ne sont pas sensibilisées et convaincues la sanction par la loi ne marchera et on continuera la pratique en cachette. La participation de la communauté est très importante si on veut que cela bouge!

Quelles actions d'après toi seraient efficaces pour en finir avec cette pratique?
Donne des exemples !